Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.

Omega Pi Zeta Chapter

Joanna Goodson, President

Janese Meyer, Scholarship Chair


Founded January 16, 1920, Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Incorporated began as an idea conceived by five coeds at Howard University. These five women, also known as our Five Pearls, dared to depart from the traditional coalitions for black women and sought to establish a new organization predicated on the founding principles of Scholarship, Service, Sisterhood, and Finer Womanhood.


The Omega Pi Zeta chapter of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. was chartered on November 9, 2012, by eight black, college-educated women whose main purpose is the betterment of the Evanston community and its citizens through service while upholding the Sorority’s founding principles. Our focus is to provide assistance and support through our nationally established service initiatives while committing locally to programs such as the Evanston YWCA, Primm Towers, Ricky Byrdsong Memorial Race Against Hate, and the Dajae Coleman Foundation. The Five Pearls Scholarship is yet another way we serve and support our community.

The Five PearlZ Scholarship is awarded to a senior African American female student living in Evanston, IL, with a minimum 2.5 GPA and acceptance into a four-year college or university.  The scholarship application is due by March 31, 2021.

2021 Five PearlZ scholarship flyer.jpg