top of page
Zeta Phi Beta Scholarship Information
The Five PearlZ Scholarship
Five PearlZ Scholarship Flyer V3.png

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.

Omega Pi Zeta Chapter

Joanna Goodson, President

Janese Meyer, Scholarship Chair


Founded January 16, 1920 Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Incorporated began as an idea conceived by five coeds at Howard University. These five women, also known as our Five Pearls, dared to depart from the traditional coalitions for black women and sought to establish a new organization predicated on the founding principles of Scholarship, Service, Sisterhood and Finer Womanhood.


The Omega Pi Zeta chapter of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. was chartered on November 9, 2012 by eight black, college-educated women whose main purpose is the betterment of the Evanston community and its citizens through service while upholding the Sorority’s founding principles. Our focus is to provide assistance and support through our nationally established service initiatives while committing locally to programs such as the Evanston YWCA, Primm Towers, Ricky Byrdsong Memorial Race Against Hate and the Dajae Coleman Foundation. The Five Pearls Scholarship is yet another way we serve and support our community.

The Five PearlZ Scholarship is awarded to a senior African American female student living in Evanston, IL, with a minimum 2.5 GPA and acceptance into a four-year college or university.  The scholarship application is due March 31st

Zeta National Educational Foundation, Inc. Scholarships & Fellowships

Since 1975, the Foundation has awarded thousands of dollars in scholarships and fellowships for higher education to both Zetas and Non-Zetas. The Foundation has processed hundreds of other scholarships, as a part of its Chapter Designated Scholarship Program, established in 1980. Under the program, local scholarships and fellowships are awarded by chapters throughout the country.  Scholarship Descriptions and applications are found using the following link:

bottom of page